The Ship Inn

Add to wishlist
Add to compare
5331 votes
Open now 11AM - 10:30PM
Updated 2 months ago
Add a photo
133 photos
The interior of The Ship Inn
Food at The Ship Inn
Meals at The Ship Inn
Food at The Ship Inn
Check out how The Ship Inn looks inside
The exterior of The Ship Inn
Take a seat at one of the tables at The Ship Inn
The interior of The Ship Inn
Check out how The Ship Inn looks inside
Check out how The Ship Inn looks outside
Take a seat at one of the tables at The Ship Inn
Meals at The Ship Inn
The interior of The Ship Inn
Fish and chips at The Ship Inn

If you like the British cuisine, you should visit this bar. Many visitors come to taste perfectly cooked sausages, gammon and monkfish. The Ship Inn offers you tasty sundaes, yorkshire pudding and crème brûlée. Get your meal started with good gin, draft beer or ale. Here you may order delicious latte, tea or tonic.

Come to this place to celebrate an anniversary, wedding, or a birthday party in a beautiful interior. The cool staff welcomes people all year round. This spot is remarkable for its spectacular service. You will like attractive prices. The atmosphere is homey, as clients find it. Google gives it 4.2 so you can select this bar to spend a good time here.

Best in the city

This award is based on the analysis of multiple factors, including reviews, ratings, and user engagement trends on Restaurant Guru.
Restaurant
Cosy atmosphere
Beautiful view

Frequently mentioned in reviews

See allLess

Visitors' reviews on The Ship Inn

/ 1051
S
Request content removal
We went there for lunch, the food was well prepared and was very good the service was very good with helpful staff the setting overlooking Mundsley beach was fantastic. We will definitely go there again when we visit Mundsley again.
K
Request content removal
Been coming back for over 7 years but sadly will not be returning. We arrived before food service had started, keen to eat here again, and ordered the second it turned 12. The place wasn't busy, yet the food still took around 20 minutes to arrive and was lukewarm. The mushy peas had formed a skin and were starting to crack. The fish was barely warm and the chips tasted reheated. We sent the food back, telling the waitress it was cold. She politely said she'd get us fresh servings. About 10 minutes later she returned with what looked like the same food, warning us the plates were hot. The plates may have been, but the fish certainly wasn't. It wasn't just the temperature either — the chips tasted stale and reheated, not freshly fried. Disgusted with the service, we couldn't stomach the cold food and left. The lunch we'd been so eager for left us both disappointed and, frankly, disgusted. I told the barman, who offered to make it right, but I declined further unsatisfactory food. Our past experiences kept us coming back, but the quality has clearly plummeted. I've had better fish and chips from a south London chippie. The premium standard we'd come to expect simply isn't there anymore. Adding to my review as I can not reply to the Ships comment. - A fresh replacement was not provided. The same food was reheated but insufficiently. The heated lemon on the fish was a telltale confirmation of this. - A refund or replacement meal was not offered.
T
a month ago
Dear Kip Lewis,Thank you for your review and, particularly, for your loyalty over the past seven years. We’re genuinely disappointed that this visit left you feeling so differently about an experience you had previously enjoyed many times. We would, however, like to clarify a couple of points. When your initial meal was returned, the food was temperature-checked by the kitchen and found to be hot. Nevertheless, as you were unhappy with it, a fresh replacement was prepared and served directly from the fryer. We’re sorry that this still did not meet your expectations. Our manager also spoke with you before you left, apologised for your disappointment and offered either a refund or an alternative meal in an effort to resolve the situation. We completely respect that you did not wish to accept either option, although we are sorry that this meant we were unable to find a resolution you were happy with at the time. It is particularly disappointing to receive this feedback from someone who has chosen to return to us for so many years, and we appreciate you sharing your experience with us.Kind regards,The Ship Inn Team
Show replies (1)arrow
D
Request content removal
I don’t often leave bad reviews, but this really had to be mentioned. We had a meal at The Ship Inn first 7 years ago and returned 3 years ago, and the fish and chips were always excellent. We were really looking forward to coming back today!!! Unfortunately, what a disappointment. The fish and chips were cold, the mushy peas had a hard skin on top, and the overall quality was basically non existant. It was honestly something you’d expect from the cheapest and dodgiest place in London at 2am on a Friday night. We sent it back and it returned a few minutes later on hot plates, but the food itself hadn’t improved. We did complain at the bar and they offered to sort it out, which we appreciated, but by then the experience was already spoiled. Such a shame, especially given how good our previous visits had been. We shall not be returning!
T
a month ago
Dear Dacha Lewis,Thank you for your review and, particularly, for your loyalty over the past seven years. We’re genuinely disappointed that this visit left you feeling so differently about an experience you had previously enjoyed many times. We would, however, like to clarify a couple of points. When your initial meal was returned, the food was temperature-checked by the kitchen and found to be hot. Nevertheless, as you were unhappy with it, a fresh replacement was prepared and served directly from the fryer. We’re sorry that this still did not meet your expectations. Our manager also spoke with you before you left, apologised for your disappointment and offered either a refund or an alternative meal in an effort to resolve the situation. We completely respect that you did not wish to accept either option, although we are sorry that this meant we were unable to find a resolution you were happy with at the time. It is particularly disappointing to receive this feedback from someone who has chosen to return to us for so many years, and we appreciate you sharing your experience with us.Kind regards,The Ship Inn Team
Show replies (1)arrow
British, Vegetarian options
££££ Price range per person up to £25
The Ship Inn on map
© OpenStreetMaps contributors
21 Beach Rd
Mundesley, England, United Kingdom
Address
21 Beach Rd, Mundesley, England, United Kingdom
Features
Delivery Takeaway Outdoor seating Wi-Fi Сredit cards accepted Wheelchair accessible Parking Booking
Opening hours
SundaySun 11AM-10:30PM
MondayMon 11AM-10:30PM
TuesdayTue 11AM-10:30PM
WednesdayWed 11AM-10:30PM
ThursdayThu 11AM-10:30PM
FridayFri 11AM-11PM
SaturdaySat 11AM-11PM
Instagram
@widbrookgrange
Report incorrect information

Tasty dishes in Mundesley

Restaurant features in Mundesley

Updated on: